Column 7: For I will send into her pestilence, and blood into her streets (Ez. 28:23)

Well. Today has been a busy day at Conservapedia. I will let an excerpt from the Block Log speak for itself for a moment:

That’s a pretty long list there. And by now, one should not be surprised to see one’s old friend Sysop TK involved in most of the entries. I’m seeing some names of people whom I had come to know as good editors with lots of useful contributions. Now here they are, accused of sock puppetry, vandalism and even terrorism.

Were these people sock puppets? Obviously, I can’t say – I don’t have the tools or the knowledge necessary to make that judgment. But vandalism? A cursory glance over the contributions for most of them does not reveal anything that by most definitions of the term can be classed as vandalism. It also reveals that the majority of these people have tended to oppose or at least be critical of the dominant reactionary/Creationist bias on the site.

In other words, today’s bannings bear all the usual marks of a good, old-fashioned purge. I don’t know why these particular people were targeted, but I do note that most of them have been involved in recent controversies on the site. For example, User:Leopeo posted a long and apparently well-founded complaint on Sysop TK’s talk page, a complaint that was later attempted removed. Considering this and other examples, it stands to reason that most of the people on the list were banned for ideological or personal reasons, violating several of Conservapedia’s own rules.

That’s bad enough in itself, but there are several factors that make it worse. It is apparent that we are dealing here with blanket accusations. Does TK have sufficient evidence against each in particular, or are welooking at guilt by association? We do not know. Have the accused had an opportunity to defend themselves? That does not appear to be the case.

Even worse, one notes that User:Jtl was banned shortly after filing several abuse reports against none other than Sysop TK. This must be condemned as an unacceptable conflict of interests. And ColinR? Well, ColinR was a Sysop himself. One would think that to demote and ban a Sysop would take some rather grievous behavior, backed up by strong evidence. But not in this case. Because what was ColinR banned for? Let’s check the list again.

For being “just plain stupid.”

Indeed.

I’d say more about this affair, because there’s much more to say about it. Right now, however, I’ll just express my regrets that the management of Conservapedia is effectively destroying the site by allowing a small minority of people to continue the kind of behavior that we have witnessed today. I do not understand why they do this. I really don’t.

Good night, and good luck.

39 Responses to “Column 7: For I will send into her pestilence, and blood into her streets (Ez. 28:23)”


  1. 1 Kelseigh May 16, 2007 at 7:55 pm

    I made a comment that apparently Blogger ate, hope it gets indigestion.

    But to write it considerably more briefly, Aslafly et al do what they do because to them, all information whether it be education, art, science, even truth, is all subservient to propaganda, and dammit it’ll be their propaganda. If they can slap the “encyclopedia” tag on their ideology, that gives it some legitimacy, or at least they think it does. So expect to see them go further and further into fantasy now that they’ve found ways to justify getting rid of the only thing holding them in check.

  2. 2 lanfranc May 16, 2007 at 8:00 pm

    It’s there, I just needed to tweak the spam filters.

    You’re right, of course. I just find it difficult to believe that they think anyone outside of their own little circle will take them seriously. Between the complete mismanagement and the horribly biased content, they’re basically just preaching to the choir.

    Oh, well.

  3. 3 Todd Larason May 16, 2007 at 8:13 pm

    There seem to be a few words missing at the end of “I do note that most of them have”.

    For the record, I (CP user ‘Jtl’) am not Icewedge and have never vandalized CP. Nor am I a terrorist. Nor do I have any idea what supposed evidence there is for either of those things.

  4. 4 Kelseigh May 16, 2007 at 8:14 pm

    They think people take Jonah Freakin’ Goldberg seriously! These people will believe anything.

  5. 5 Leopeo May 16, 2007 at 8:21 pm

    For the record, Todd’s words apply to me too. I was very mild in my contributions/comments in respect to many others on that list. I can only guess that 1) I made TK mad at me, or 2) TK blocked me and Timppeli based on the country of our IP addresses.

  6. 6 hyperbole May 16, 2007 at 8:28 pm

    Hey, my contribs were ok, but apparently im part of a conspiracy.

  7. 7 hyperbole May 16, 2007 at 8:29 pm

    Oh, and hi todd…good to see youre still standing

  8. 8 lanfranc May 16, 2007 at 8:34 pm

    Thanks, Todd. Rest of the paragraph is there now.

  9. 9 Leopeo May 16, 2007 at 8:41 pm

    Thanks for the link to my deleted comment on TK’s talk page.

  10. 10 Anonymous May 16, 2007 at 8:42 pm

    The Scientology page was just inexplicably cleared and locked by TK.

  11. 11 Leopeo May 16, 2007 at 8:49 pm

    Conservapedia Talk too.

    Next he’ll delete the Main Page and I’ll know who is the vandal πŸ˜€

  12. 12 Kelseigh May 16, 2007 at 8:50 pm

    Haha, I think TK’s reading here, and he saw someone mention the Scientology page and doesn’t want to lose Ed, who he seems to like. That’s my conspiracy theory and I’m stickin’ with it!

    Oh, and in Conservative terms, “like” is a synonym for “think he can use”.

  13. 13 lanfranc May 16, 2007 at 9:11 pm

    Now now, be nice. I know plenty of decent conservatives. πŸ˜‰

    Also, if TK is indeed reading here, I’ll certainly encourage him to leave a comment. I’m sure he’ll agree that there’s nothing worse than a one-sided debate.

  14. 14 Kelseigh May 16, 2007 at 9:20 pm

    Sorry, I should have capitalized the “C” there. I know people who are conservative that are just fine, but Conservative as in the movement is another matter entirely.

  15. 15 Middle Man May 16, 2007 at 9:33 pm

    The cleansing/pogrom/kristallnacht continues: userpages are being deleted and articles are hastly being turned into YEC propaganda as we speak!

    Right now, no one, not even the sysops dare to oppose TK: I’d say his coup d’etat was successful.

  16. 16 hyperbole May 16, 2007 at 9:47 pm

    Coup de merde

  17. 17 hyperbole May 16, 2007 at 9:51 pm

    Fun from TKs user page:
    scientology

    just curious as to why the article was deleted. –Tim (CPAdmin1)talk 16:54, 16 May 2007 (EDT)

    * I was told to. You need to learn to email about his stuff. I won’t remind you again, Tim. That’s how it is from now on, ok? –Sysop-TK /MyTalk 16:55, 16 May 2007 (EDT)

    [edit] Neanderthal

    Re: Neanderthal

    I did a little work on both articles. Rob’s and the other one. Just make sure the evolutionists don’t state their material as fact like they did in Rob’s version. Conservative 17:35, 16 May 2007 (EDT)

    * No problem! We have gotten rid of many liberal haters last night, this morning. More to come! –Sysop-TK /MyTalk 17:44, 16 May 2007 (EDT

  18. 18 Kelseigh May 16, 2007 at 9:52 pm

    Reminds me of AmesG’s second-last block, and within minutes Andy and TK were discussing a list of his law articles to “fix”.

  19. 19 Aulis Eskola May 16, 2007 at 10:21 pm

    Nice to see you again πŸ™‚ Amazing to see after this day of “general cleaning” here is blog and even discussions of virtually killed conservapedians! I am not yet but can I write some thoughts and feelings?

    I think this new principle is as crystallizing the aggressive and angry leading principle of CP:

    http://www.conservapedia.com/Conservapedia:Blocking_policy

    Still wondering why they try to keep it somehow open for all to edit? It means total conflict in principles.

  20. 20 hyperbole--notsock May 16, 2007 at 10:28 pm

    Yes, well, they seem to be imploding. They are mostly communicating by email now, and TK is cursing and screaming. It is quite ugly. They are continuing to purge, and doing cleanup of articles they dont like, etc. They still seem to have an “icewedge” problem though, if you read the block log. Maybe Icewedge and “the cabal” are actually different entities?

  21. 21 lanfranc May 16, 2007 at 10:44 pm

    I have no idea what’s going on, but I agree – it ain’t pretty.

    Welcome, Aulis, and do comment away.

  22. 22 BarfBarrel May 16, 2007 at 11:15 pm

    Oh, Sid, you are always amusing! Sometimes the reason put for the block is just done for you guys! You read stuff and breathlessly repeat it back like Joan Rivers…..

    Incidentially, all of “rational wiki” has been copied, FYI, so anyone playing the “innocent” role will be laughed outta town!

    For those interested here is the link to it:

    http://www.rationalwiki.com/Main_Page

  23. 23 Kelseigh May 16, 2007 at 11:29 pm

    Isn’t he cute when he thinks he’s right about something?

    I’d ask to keep him as a pet, but he’s got a history of pooping on the rug.

  24. 24 Ted May 16, 2007 at 11:29 pm

    The question to BarfBarel (sic) is who cares???

  25. 25 Ed May 16, 2007 at 11:32 pm

    If he is right about that site, so what? What kind of insect has crawled up that poor man’s anus?

  26. 26 Fred May 16, 2007 at 11:33 pm

    I wonder why anyone led TK here? It seems very convenient that he should have been led to this blog…I wonder what motivated that.

  27. 27 lanfranc May 16, 2007 at 11:36 pm

    It’s not as if the blog is secret in any way – quite the contrary – so let’s be civil to the good gentleman while he’s here. πŸ™‚

  28. 28 Civil Infraction May 16, 2007 at 11:37 pm

    Fine…Ok..

  29. 29 Zed May 16, 2007 at 11:40 pm

    Do we really have to be nice or just civil?

  30. 30 lanfranc May 16, 2007 at 11:43 pm

    Civil is sufficient, but nice would probably be good for your soul. *nods*

  31. 31 Middle Man May 16, 2007 at 11:44 pm

    BarfBarrel = TK ???

    whoever you are, your spies didn’t do their job: if you really had a copy, you would have known at least several of TK’s victims, including myself had nothing to do with rationalwiki, or Icewedge for that matter.

    You want the truth? You can’t handle the truth!

  32. 32 LovinKindness May 17, 2007 at 12:00 am

    Hugs TK

  33. 33 BarfBarrel May 17, 2007 at 12:33 am

    I suppose they didn’t like your name, Middle Man. It has a faint odor of Communism about it……

    Cheers!

    (And really, all of you….you have no idea who I am. Typical.)

  34. 34 Linus May 17, 2007 at 12:45 am

    A purge. Beautiful. –~~~~

  35. 35 Jrssr5 May 17, 2007 at 12:38 pm

    Ah, I’m in that list of blocks … I don’t even understand the reason behind my block, but TK has taken it upon to throw around threats of reporting me to the FBI and quoting Federal Laws he doesn’t understand. The man is a lunatic and drunk on power. Sometimes I wonder if he’s a parody himself as no one can really be that retarded.

  36. 36 Linus May 17, 2007 at 2:30 pm

    Don’t you hate it when people think they know something they don’t?

  37. 37 Grinder May 17, 2007 at 5:02 pm

    Andy’s lack of legal knowledge seems to be surpassed only by TK’s lack of reading comprehension.

  38. 38 human May 17, 2007 at 5:17 pm

    Hi Aulis! Nice to see you here, since I seem to have been “removed” from CP indefinitely by Barfbarrel. I hope you are still enjoying your observations of how a wiki runs with those rather odd rules – and rules that sysops can make up as they go along!

    Cheers!


  1. 1 Conservapedia and Fascism « WhiteCoatUnderground Trackback on May 21, 2007 at 8:12 pm

Leave a Reply

View Andreas Kjeldsen's profile on LinkedIn

Be a patron of the arts!

Support a poor writer.

del.icio.us


